Today I will visit the dentist

At first I was excited. I love the dentist! There is something about the sterile smell of the offices that I find intoxicating, having someone else bother flossing my teeth, the clean, slimy feeling of my teeth after a thorough scrubbin’… the swag bags after the visit with the lil toothbrush, floss and whatever the hell else they add. I was STOKED… only now I am not.

I know in my heart of hearts that I have a cavity. And that is terrifying. I know this because at my last visit I was told that I had a cavity and didn’t do squat about it. AHHH, I KNOW! Why am I so stoopy?! I am afraid of this: finding that the tooth is rotting out of my head. I mean, worse comes to worse they have to extract it and I am left with a gaping hole in the back of my mouth. Big whoop, its one of the waaaaay back toofers anyways so its not THAT big of a deal, however I am still terrified. What if its infected? I know its not because there is no redness, swelling, pus or pain of any kind from back there. So I think I’m good. Still. What if they are flossing back there and it falls out?!? Well, at least I don’t have to pay for it to be pulled… this is nice. I like this. As I type out my fears of this trip I am finding that its not as scary as I am making it out to be.

WHEW! 

I am sitting at work right now, not on the clock, waiting for it to be time to leave. 9:00am… Dentist at 11:00am… I should have brought a toothbrush.

 

Leave a Reply

